After you’ve gotten into a car accident, one of the last things to worry about is reporting it. First, you must assure everyone involved was not hurt, including yourself.
After you’ve covered your own safety, you can then start to begin the reporting process. Here, we’ve put together a quick guide about when to report a car accident in Connecticut.
Connecticut Car Accident Law
In Connecticut, you are required by law to report a car accident that caused damage exceeding $1,000 within five days of the accident. While that is how the law is written, police officers that arrive on the scene will file a report for you right after the accident.
Regardless of the amount of damage done, Connecticut law requires that you report all accidents to the police.
It’s crucial to have the police create a Connecticut motor vehicle accident report. That’s because the officers involved will put the specific details of the accident into the report, which can help determine who truly was at fault for the accident.
Fault in a Connecticut Car Accident – The law in Connecticut states that if a driver is found more than 50 percent at fault, they will see a surcharge on their insurance. If you are at fault, your insurance coverage will pay for the repairs and medical bills of the other driver involved in the accident
The Other Driver
After experiencing a car accident in Connecticut, make sure you exchange the following information with the other driver
- Driver’s License Number
- Plate Number/Registration
- Insurance Information
- Phone Number
Always make sure the other driver wasn’t harmed in the accident. If they are, you should offer to call 911 for them to seek medical attention.
It’s also important to note that when the police arrive, they will ask if anyone needs an ambulance if someone has been injured in a car accident. While you or the other driver can decline an ambulance, it is advised if you are in any way hurt, or are psychologically impacted by the accident. Medical reports generated from your hospital visit will give you more evidence to use should there be a dispute in the case.
The Step-By-Step Guide
See below what to do if you’ve been involved in a car accident in Connecticut:
- Make Sure You and the Other Driver are OK – If anybody is in need of medical attention, contact 911 immediately.
- Contact the Police – Contacting the police immediately will allow them to create a Connecticut Motor Vehicle Accident Report to obtain all the details of the accident
- Exchange Information – After contacting the police, approach the other driver and exchange all the information needed as listed above.
- Take Pictures – Use your mobile phone to take pictures of both cars. This can be used as evidence in the case that fault is incorrectly placed on you.
While lawsuits are difficult to manage, there may be times you need to file one to receive the damages you are entitled to.
The statute of limitations in Connecticut Motor Vehicle Law states you have between two and three years to file a lawsuit for a motor vehicle accident. This varies based on the type of accident, the injuries incurred, and more.
If you’ve been involved in a Connecticut motor vehicle accident, contact Moynahan Law as soon as possible so we can make sure you receive peace of mind and the damages owed to you.
Timothy C. Moynahan is the CEO and owner of Moynahan Partners, which offers business development consultancy, identifying strategic business partnerships and funding sources. He founded and heads the Moynahan Law Firm, Waterbury, Connecticut, and is “of counsel” to the Jin Law Group at 200 Park Avenue in New York. He is a sought-after and successful trial lawyer, earning the Super Lawyer of New England and Connecticut awards from 2009 to 2012 and Best Criminal Defense Attorney accolade in 2013.